Eating While On the Road {NOOGA for the weekend}

I don’t believe in cheat days. I believe that it’s 100% possible to be happy and healthy and also indulge in whatever tasty treats you like. If you’re eating right most of the time, not drinking too much, and you’re exercising then you’re golden.

I’m off to Chattanooga today to visit my best friend from college, Kate! (Check out her blog — A Thought and a Half) It’s going to be a weekend of killer southern food, great wine and whiskey, and catching up!

10446633_10152299610577239_5648674198250240934_n
Kate and I on a booze cruise in Budapest, summer 2014
Even though Kate and I text/talk on the phone almost everyday, it’s so much more fun to catch up in person! I used to see Kate weekly, if not everyday of the week in college, so post-grad life is a bummer since we don’t live near each other! The last time I saw Kate, she came and ate at the restaurant I was working at last summer (shout out to Bearnaise on Capitol Hill for their amazing brunch).

Do you ever feel like you eat WAY more and way worse when you’re traveling?

There’s just something that feels so wrong about eating a salad at the airport while you wait for your flight. I love airport food. I want a great sandwich, snacks and so much caffeine while I’m traveling. It’s always the worst feeling to return home after a trip and feel like you gained about 10 times.

 When you’re traveling:

  • Drink a lot of water – I find that sometimes I get sick right after I travel because I’m eating and drinking things that I don’t normally eat/drink on a daily or sometimes even weekly basis. Hydrating while traveling is crucial!
  • Go easy on the booze 
  • Pack healthy snacks for the flight/car ride 
  • Eat healthy the week before you travel and hydrate a lot — if I’ve had a healthy week of eating and working out I’ll take advantage of traveling to have an awesome and maybe fattening meal to treat myself 
  • BALANCE is key. Skip drinks during brunch but have a glass of wine or two at dinner. Have a salad for lunch after a healthy breakfast, but have a fried food bonanza for dinner.

Treating yourself is not cheating on your diet/eating plan. I can’t stress enough how much I hate when people talk about “cheat days.” BALANCE. It’s your life – and  of course, life is too short to eat kale all the time and not eat, drink and be merry — especially when you’re traveling and on vacation!

Follow me on Snapchat to see my adventures in Chattanooga this weekend! 

Screen Shot 2016-04-15 at 8.21.31 AM.png
jordanhellmuth

 

Leave a Reply

