Kale yes!

unnamed1.jpg

I love kale.

It is my absolute favorite leafy green — and yes, I really do have a favorite leafy green. Eating clean and healthy can actually be a lot of fun with the right base for you to add more delicious things to. I think kale tastes great by itself (with a little this and that added).

The first time I ever ate Kale was at Béarnaise on Capitol Hill, where I worked from Jan-Oct last year. (Shout out of all of my Béarnaisers and of course, the amazing Spike Mendelsohn and the head chef of Béarnaise, Brian Lacayo!) The kale lardons salad is TO DIE for. Kale, bacon, poached egg, gruyere cheese. Yum.

Kale is not very expensive at all! I’ve gotten into a habit of getting a bunch of kale from the grocery store and preparing it on a Sunday night for salads during the week. My coworker Jennifer laughed and me and was super surprised when I told her that you HAVE TO massage kale for a kale salad. Literally – google ‘massage kale’ and you’ll see!

unnamed2.jpg

First you wash the kale, like you would with any other leafy green like romaine lettuce. You then tear the kale (off the stem) and into bite size pieces. Next, you put all of the kale into a bowl, and kneed the kale (like a cat or like you’re giving someone a massage) for about 3 minutes. I just set a timer on my microwave or on my phone.

IMG_9995.jpg
LEFT: Unmassaged kale; RIGHT: Kale massaged for 3 minutes!

Kale is super tough and kind of bitter when it’s not massaged (aren’t we all?). My sister Lindsey couldn’t figure out why she didn’t really like kale until I told her that you have to massage it. She had been trying to eat it like lettuce, and wasted a bunch of kale because she didn’t know how to prepare it.

Here’s my recipe for a super easy kale salad to make at home! It’s great to take to work for lunch.

IMG_9999.jpg

  • Medium sized Tupperware (for salad) of raw kale – torn off of stems into bite sized pieces
  • 1 Tyson’s grilled chicken fillet (frozen)
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • Parmeasan cheese
  1. Rinse kale in colander and put back into Tupperware
  2. Massage kale (kneed like a cat) for 3 minutes — you’ll notice the difference in the kale from the pictures above
  3. Prepare the fillet in the mircowave
  4. Toss the kale with lemon juice and olive oil
  5. Cut up chicken fillet and mix in with the kale/dressings and Parmesan cheese
  6. Refridgerate

This salad is easy, and delicious! I throw it in the fridge when I get to work so that the juices have time to sit together before I have it for lunch.

**I prep the kale the night before and put all other ingredients in the next morning. You can also take the chicken in a separate container and reheat when you’re ready to have lunch.

 

Get the KALE tee from HappyHeadTees on Etsy!

Leave a Reply

