Fit Feature: Amanda Molano (Beachbody Coach)

I have some friends who are absolute fitness rock stars. They’re all over social media posting about Shakeology, Beachbody, and numerous other ways they’re getting in/in better shape and leading a happier and healthier life. It is my pleasure to highlight some of those fabulous people on The Perfect Fit by Jordan, because it’s clear they’ve truly found the perfect fits for them with their health, eating, and working out.

unnamed

Amanda Molano is one of my Pi Beta Phi sorority sisters! We met my sophomore year of college, her freshman year, when she joined Pi Phi. She is one of the most positive and hardworking people I know. She’s also an amazing athlete and dancer! She graduated from Virginia Tech in 2015 and is currently pursuing a Masters in Social Work at the University of Pittsburgh. She has taken her health by the reins and is killing it with home workouts. 

What made you want to start your fitness journey?

Amanda: During the few weeks leading up to graduating from college last May, I was not pleased with my graduation pictures. Not because they were poorly taken, but because I was so ashamed of how I looked and how much I let myself go during my senior year. I went out WAY too much, and even though I went to the gym a few times per week taking cycling, bodypump, and zumba classes, the amount that I worked out did not overpower how much I was eating and drinking.

IMG_3672
Left: Amanda, May 2015 // Right: Amanda, NOW

How did you become a Beachbody coach, and how long have you been one?

Amanda: I became a Beachbody coach on March 4, 2016, so I am a little over one month into it. The first thing I can say is that it has already positively changed my life. I did Insanity 3 summers ago and loved it. So as soon as I graduated and decided to take back control of my health and fitness, I ordered Insanity: MAX 30 followed by Les Mills Combat. I was really proud of myself for taking charge of my health and started posting update pictures on instagram, and people would comment how inspired they were and couldn’t believe my transformation.

I have some friends and sorority sisters who are Beachbody coaches and kept saying I basically already do the job, so why not join the crazy business. I was worried it would get in the way of grad school, so I pushed it off as long as possible. This March I was intrigued by 2 new workouts I hadn’t heard of yet—PiYo and 22 Minute Hard Corps. One friend, who is now my coach, kept following up with me about becoming a coach so I finally decided to try it out and wow is has been awesome!

For those who may not know, what does the Beachbody program entail?

Amanda: Beachbody is a community of hundreds of thousands of people around the world who all have one similar interest—better themselves through health and fitness and help others reach their goals too. By signing up with Beachbody, you get your own Team Beachbody account and profile, the workout program of your choice or access to hundreds of workouts through Beachbody On Demand, Shakeology and/or other workout supplements, a coach who is there to help you during your fitness journey and with any questions or concerns you may have, the ability to join challenge groups on the Team Beachbody website or on Facebook with people doing your same or different workout program to help with accountability, support, and guidance, and (my favorite part) a free T-Shirt when you complete workout programs!

What have you noticed about Beachbody that works for you, that maybe other workout programs didn’t?

Amanda: I have always been an extremely busy person with school, multiple part time jobs, and an internship. Fitting in workout classes was such a struggle for me because the ones I would want to go to wouldn’t be offered at times that I could make it or I would just been too exhausted from everything else going on that I wouldn’t make the time to go. I used the excuse “needing to do something else” or “I don’t have time” too often.

With Beachbody, every program comes with a fitness calendar and meal guide along with the workout DVDs. I always auto-schedule my workout into SuperGym on my Beachbody account because it helps me stay accountable by having to go in every day and click “Completed” on that specific workout for the day. This month, while doing both PiYo and 22 Minute Hard Corps, I knew it was going to be tough so I taped both calendars onto the wall next to the TV as an extra push of motivation. Everything about these programs is so organized, and everybody involved—coaches and fellow challenge group members—are extremely supportive and always share delicious healthy recipes and workout tips. It’s not like going to a workout class and feeling to connectedness with the instructor or other people taking the class with me. Beachbody gets everyone involved and excited about getting their health on track and reaching our goals! 

IMG_3978

There’s so much hype surrounding Shakeology. Why do you personally like it? What’s your favorite flavor of Shakeology?

Amanda: I started drinking Shakeology last June when I ordered Insanity MAX 30 because I figured if I was going to change my lifestyle, I’m going all in. Shakeology is delicious. I love it because I feel like my body is on a never-ending cleanse, and I seriously don’t get tired of the taste. It’s incredible how much it cuts my cravings because they really do taste like milkshakes. I stopped drinking coffee once I graduate from college because I was drinking a large all the time, I finally got the new Café Latte Shakeology flavor in March and it completely satisfied my iced coffee cravings. I have had the Chocolate, Greenberry, and Café Latte flavors and I would say I am between Chocolate and Café Latte as my favorite because they satisfy my sweet cravings more than the Greenberry did, but the Greenberry was so refreshing in the mornings and I loved putting frozen berries in it.

What are some of your guilty pleasure foods? How do you balance what you want to eat? (Cheat days? Balance? Etc.)

Amanda: Oh my goodness, buffalo chicken ANYTHING and jalapeno poppers. I was actually just telling my boyfriend today that I haven’t had jalapeno poppers since end of January/early February and did not even notice until I saw a commercial today. I used to crave jalapeno poppers at least once a week and I’m always sold on buffalo chicken foods.

I absolutely hate calorie counting. I really do think it’s all about portion control and what you are feeding your body. Honestly, even just after a few days of eating cleaner and smaller portions, my body feels SO much better. If my friends are going out, I still get a couple drinks and eat, but I watch more carefully how many drinks I’m having and what I am picking from the menu. Sometimes, I just want to eat bad foods, so I let myself knowing that I’ll push even harder in my workout the next day. I think holding myself to a specific workout plan and not allowing my self to have a guilty pleasure kind of night with foods would make me crazy.

Lastly, what is your favorite health/fitness/workout mantra?

Amanda: Don’t think about how you feel at the beginning of the workout; think about how you feel at the end of it. Empowered, accomplished, strong.

IMG_4001
Amanda, this week!

Interested in Beachbody? Contact Amanda via email: Amanda93@vt.edu or go to her website www.Beachbodycoach.com/AmandaRM93!

Leave a Reply

